About Shelby


Energy level- -Medium

Medical history-Healthy. 

Ideal home- A dog walker is needed if working full time. 

Hi there. My name is Shelby and my mom thinks I am mostly a Yorkie. I weigh a whopping 5.5 pounds and I am about 6-8 years old.  If you want a purse dog, then I am a fit. I am potty trained and very sweet. I play well with others (dogs and most likely cats). I would love a yard with a fence because I love the great outdoors. In nice weather when my mother works from home she always leaves the back door open so I can explore. I have a lot of fun that way. I love walks too.  I came from a 52 dog hoarding situation and I can be a little timid. I don’t like loud noises so a home with a crying baby would probably not be good for me. But older kids that don’t treat me like a stuffed animal would be ok.


I need a furfamily that will be patient with me at first. It will take me a bit to warm up to you. Only because I am a little timid but once I know you I am all about the love. I love being cuddled. My positives: sweet, listens well, potty trained, loves walks and car rides. My negatives: some times I don’t have a great appetite so once in awhile I don’t want to eat. But by dinner time I am hungry. I am not a picky eater. I like most things, especially raw spinach. Mom throws it on the floor and I chase it for a snack. I don’t like loud noises or thunderstorms. I get very shaky. I will definitely need an owner that has patience so I can acclimate to my new environment.

Caring Hearts Rescue
P.O. Box 6592
Springfield, VA.  22150
  • c-youtube